Alexz Johnson Breaks Down New Record, ‘A Stranger Time’ — TheDailyListening

Want to know the motivation or what’s behind each track on “A Stranger Time”? Alexz talked with The Daily Listening and explained each track.


Indie singer/songwriter Alexz Johnson is a force to be reckoned with. You might as well call her an indie queen being that she’s held her ground in the industry for over a decade. Today, the singer releases her highly-anticipated new album, A Stranger Time, offering listeners a deeper look inside her mind while maintaining her classic, soulful vocal prowess we’ve all fallen in love with.

In this exclusive track-by-track commentary, Johnson shares some anecdotal insights into what each song on A Stranger Time means to her. Enjoy and don’t forget to pick up the album now here!

01. “Breathe”

The was the first song I wrote for A Stranger Time. I was really vibing on some Prince material and even though “Breathe” sounds nothing like Prince, he oddly inspired this track for me…fact.

02. “Careless”

This song is the oldest track on the album. I wrote it a few years ago actually, around the time I wrote “American Dreamer” and “Nothin’ On Me.” I hung onto it knowing it would find a home someday. It’s about the pain we cause others in order to grow ourselves; usually we do this in our youth. We are reckless and careless with other peoples hearts, but it’s still an important step to growth.

03. “Aftermath”

This is probably my personal favorite track. It’s the aftermath of mistakes we make. Big or small…things that stay with us for the rest of our lives. The fragility of our time here.

04. “Right Now”

This song was inspired by the state of the world right now. It’s literally a musical manifest of this time. I didn’t want it to be too specific because I know people have their own versions of what’s happening in their lives. This track led to me naming the album A Stranger Time.

05. “Never Love Me Back”

I believe you never really stop loving someone just because you’re not with them. I think this is across the board with all relationships. They can change, but you carry them with you. Mother and son, brother and sister, and lovers. I feel I love some people in my life from afar without needing anything in return.

06. “Run For Your Life”

This song was written for the wild wolf in all of us. 😉 It’s how we play with power and the danger of the nightlife.

07. “Man Like You”

I think this one is pretty self explanatory. Let’s just say it’s for the special men out there who love their ladies right.

08. “Dangerous Mind”

I wanted this song to be like you were listening to someone’s secrets; someone who felt dangerous. Someone who wanted to just get in their car and drive without any destination or reason. Freedom, escape and inevitable pain – regardless – we only live once.

09. “Say Goodbye”

We recorded this immediately after we heard of Leonard Cohen’s passing. It was one take, recorded live in the kitchen. It’s a song about letting go, moving on, and just saying goodbye, which can be the hardest thing we’ll ever have to do.

This entry was posted on Friday, September 1st, 2017 at 11:17 am and is filed under News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Responses are currently closed, but you can trackback from your own site.

Comments are closed.